Volume One, Issue One

So, you all know I’m an English 2ndary Ed major. That means I like something that has to do with English, and for me it’s writing – not just regular writing mind you, but editorial (oooooooo). Well, in any case I haven’t had a chance to update my webpage section which features editorial writings, so I thought I might just create a nice little email every once in awhile. If you don’t like it let me know and I’ll get you off the will, but I can’t see why you wouldn’t… I mean, it’s me.

Lots have happened since the last time I wrote anything – started school at Grove City, met many friends. I’ve never been in a place where there were so many people that were this nice. It’s a double-edged sword though. I’ve found that there was one day I was angry, and y’all know what you really want on a day like that – someone that is a total jerk so maybe you can just tell him off and get some get rid of some steam. No dice here. No one is that mean. Sure, you might get the occasional vegetable tossed in MAP café, but who can get angry at a man who threw his carrot? There have been five or six times I wish I could have. You never know how much you miss the South Range fiestada until it’s gone. But that’s what we call growing up, right?

Anyway, I also met a young lady here. She a wonderful, beautiful girl who really knocked me off my feet pretty darn fast and things just sort of went like clockwork. Now, trust me, I’ve heard and believe no one should get involved until the first semester is over. There are too many important things to get in order before some girl comes along and can mess it all up. But, silly me, I have a selective memory and replace no one with everyone. The wonderful young lady and I however had some heart-to-hearts about the subject and feel it’s better to wait, because I think she knows as little about how she feels about life in college as I do. Remembering that I’m now man (mind-boggling in and of itself) that has responsibilities like laundry and cleaning and shaving and remembering that hey I’m the one that has to do for me, mommy’s not going to remember that I have a 7:30 meeting is about a big of a slap with the cold latex glove of reality as I’ve ever gotten (that quote is from Brian Stoll, thank you). College is less the education of one’s mind and more of the realization of one’s ineptness.

But I have 2 A’s, 3 B’s, and 1 C. I can’t complain, only remember when I had a small nervous breakdown each time I saw anything less than an A on my papers. College is also the biggest lesson in humility I have come to find.

September 11th happened as well. A kid wrote to our paper saying that we’re being melodramatic when we say we’ll all remember where we were when this happened because no one we know personally was directly related and why should we be talking about telling our grandchildren when we really need to get over it. I remember. I was in chapel (my first Tuesday one, ironically), and our pastor told us it had happened. I went to my Humanities class, kid runs in 10 minutes late and says between labored breaths the towers are gone, the Pentagon is hit, and hell hit Pennsylvania. I didn’t think for another 12 hours. I prayed almost non-stop and for that one hour where I’m alone and on break before classes on Tuesday, I sat and nearly cried. I was effectively nothing but a scared little eighteen-year-old American boy. I was worried about my friends and family. My direct family was okay, but I lost over 5000 of my extended family members that day. Yeah, I was pretty much directly affected on September 11th.

But, life does go on and I’m okay. It’s almost a month since, and in less than 2 weeks I’ll be the big one-niner. I’m excited – if any of you want to just send me a hug or something, I’d appreciate it =).

The time grows ever nearer for sleep. These editorials are a big release for me, so I appreciate you sitting reading. Maybe I made you happy because you are still talking (or just getting to know) me, or happy because you don’t see me much anymore and don’t have to deal with any of this as often. Either way, enjoy your days and I hope to hear from all of you soon!

God Bless,

Adam Anderson

Freshman, Grove City College.

Leave a Reply

