Trustworthy Sayings and Random Ramblings

First off, let me say that I kinda like this song. There’s harmonies that you don’t typically hear in pop songs (esp about 1:00… “baby don’t ignore me” spot), and I think a marching band finally got some cred (c’mon, how often have we been dancing in front of large crowds? =)

Secondly, I decided to sit back a little tonite and watch Snowday on ABC, and the last scene there made me think about relationships these days (my mind drifts to this on occasion…), and how I miss one kiss and one being silly with someone I like. I swear, it seems like relationships these days need to built on entertainment and excitement. It’s like the song “The Simple Life”. Rosemary Clooney does a version of it, and basically, it’s saying that she could have caviar, furs, and a mansion, but the basics are just fine. When talking with my mom today, we got on this subject, and she said “I think the reason lots of marriages fall apart is because people are expecting fireworks… I know my husband is going to work and then is coming home to spend time with me… how much more can I ask for?” Right on, mom. All I want is to sit and watch cars go by with the girl I love. Share a box of crackers while watching a movie. Drink tea on the swinging bench. That’s the stuff of dreams… the simple life.

Third, it makes me happy they’re keeping the new hall open until 1. I promised myself it’s going to be my study spot next year… though I’m sure there’s going to be a lot of people with the same idea. Either way, that building is big enough, we’ll all fit.

Now on to the first part: Towards the end of the Bible, Paul writes to his friends Timothy and Titus. In these, he uses the phrase “this is a trustworthy saying” 5 times and then that’s it. Poof, no mas, lo siento. I thought, saying “self, for all the sayings our boy Paul had, these must be kinda important”… so, I give them to you… all 5 (all NIV, by the by):

1 Timothy 1:15
Here is a trustworthy saying that deserves full accpetance: Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners – of whom I am the worst.

1 Timothy 3:1
Here is a trustworthy saying: If anyone sets his heart on being an overseer, he desires a noble task.

1 Timothy 4:9-10
This is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance (and for this we labor and strive), that we have put our hope in the living God, who is the Savior of all men, and especially of those who believe.

2 Timothy 2:11-13
This is a trustworthy saying:

If we died with him
we will also live with him;
If we endure,
we will also regin in him.
If we disown him,
he will also disown us;
If we are faithless,
he will remain faithful,
for he cannot disown himself.

Titus 3:3-8
At one time we too were foolish, disobedient, deceived and enslaved by all kinds of passions and pleasures. We lived in malice and envy, being hated and hating one another. But when the kindness and love of God our Savior appeared, he saved us, not because of righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy. He saves us through the washing of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit, whom he poured out on us generously through Jesus Christ our Savior, so that, having been justified by his grace, we might become heirs having the hope of eternal life. This is a trustworthy saying.

I especially like the last one, because it’s basically the summary of everything many of us stand for and believe. We lived lives of sin until Christ came over and because He was merciful, saved us and gave us eternal life. I think if there had to be one verse to memorize this year, that has to be it.

Anyway, I’m getting sleepy, so I’m off. Peace, Love, Pilates!

Leave a Reply

