Freewrite…

I was going back through some old school stuff and found a poem I wrote for Poetry. I like this one, and thought I’d share. I have another that needs some work, but I’d like to share it too.

ps: Does anyone know how to properly format indents? This poem doesn’t make nearly as much sense when there’s no tabs 😦 Hopefully, by spacing it out like I have, it makes more sense.

Freewrite
by: adam anderson

I don’t dare start thinking in the morning what I’ll do wrong this evening
I do too little right to start the day so melancholy.

I don’t dare start thinking in the morning what I’ll do wrong this evening,
If I dwelled in those few minutes on

Each person I’ve angered,
All the expectations I’ve fallen short of,
The times I through I was right and was wrong,

I’d pull my covers back up over my head.

I don’t dare start thinking in the morning what I’ll do wrong this evening
I hope too much that the world would forget the old me and I’d be

The man I’ve wanted to be,
The nice guy,
The gentleman,
The one that does everything right,
That person who does everything with such clarity,
The man who is so elusive.

That being the case, everyone still knows who does things so perfectly.

I don’t dare start thinking in the morning what I’ll do wrong this evening,
Because there is an afternoon full of

The right things I did,
The doors I opened for others,
The fruits of my labor,
Being amid the love of my friends,
Me being me and liking me for me.

I would lose if I spent all my time with my head under covers.

I don’t dare start thinking in the morning what I’ll do wrong this evening,
I’m learning, slowly, I might do enough good to make the world bright.

Leave a Reply

