Thinking….

wrote a really touching entry today in her entry, and I thought about my experience. I replied to her and part of that is included, but I’ll elaborate further:

When I was a senior in High School, my project was working with abused children and seeing what the effects were in later adulthood. I went to a home and basically lived there off and on for a week. It was amazing to see the results that some of these kids had to deal with. So many of them we’re older than me, yet becuase of their abuse, you couldn’t have guessed it. Some were blinded permanently, some just seemed to not be all there, and one little boy stole and hoarded food because he was literally thrown out of his house and had to live on his own. What really stunned me, however, was the ability for every single one of them to make their lives liveable when someone had compassion and love for them. The woman who fostered all these kids loved them so much and took care of them… it was an amazing time. I think my biggest memory was one of the girls who was my age. She was born premature and while in the incubator, the oxygen was turned up and as a result burned her eyes out, leaving her blind. Her parents consequently abused her; they placed her in a cage and fed her dogfood, kicked her, etc. To keep herself safe in her mind, she talked to a little recorder called Tone. When the lady who fosters her now first started to take care of her, she could only speak with Tone, but as time progressed and her love touched the young girl, she no longer needed Tone. It was so amazing to hear her say that. It was one of the greatest opportuities I’ve ever had, and won’t soon forget it.

Anyway, next to last day. Must do some dirt speck stuff, and write a final report, plus a 1:00 meeting today, and an 11:00 QIT meeting tomorrow before I leave. Yeehaw!

Oh, and I’ve been invited to a wedding by one of the guys in my Housing Group, so I’m looking forward to that. It’s kinda fun to see the whole Grove City marriage progression. First dating, then engagement, then creeking (for those who know nothing about GCC culture, I’ll fill you in some other time), then marriage. It’s a nice deal, and Matt and Liesel make a great couple. I look forward to going.

Leave a Reply

