Easter Update

Good Good Friday everyone. I figured I’d finally update this little space I like to call my LJ with some of the more recent happenings in my life. For those of you who care little about my life, I shall merely give the headings, then consequently cut the details. Peace. For those who don’t give a flip… http://www.subserviantchicken.com will brighten your day.

1. Dr. Thompson and me
2. Lindsay
3. Working over break (Saved for another time)
4. Ministry thoughts (Saved for another time)

1. Dr. Thompson and me
Dr. Jean-Noel Thompson is our new VP of Student Life and learning at Grove City, and I can’t tell you how exctied I am for many reasons. First, he’s black. For those of you who don’t know our campus, that’s going to sound a bit bigoted, but when you consider we’re about 95% white, it’s nice to have some diversity. I don’t think we have anything against it either. We all had minority friends, so we’re not dicriminatory, but when you’re smack-dab in the middle of Pennsylvania Dutch country, with no affirmative action mandates and little minority population to begin with, it’s not easy to get started. Most minorities that have the grades for GCC are going to go to Yale or Harvard for much cheaper (if not free) than coming here. And as much as that sucks, that’s the way it is. It’s just nice to have little change. Secondly, he’s so willing to help and mentor me. As someone who wants to get into the field of higher education, I love finally meeting someone who was in business and went to higher education… this was my last email from him: from him:

Adam,

Thank you so very much for your encouragement and willingness to help. Tonya and I are quite excited to join GCC. I have been bragging about you to my staff and to colleagues at the National Association of Student Personnel Administrators (NASPA) conference in Denver last week. It is not often that we have outstanding undergraduate students express an interest in the field of Student Affairs. I look forward to working with and through you! when things settle down a bit, lets get together and chat. Please let your peers know that I am honored to serve and help grow them all! Also let your girlfriend know that we will more than likely take her up on the babysitting offer:>)

He was willing to help even before he was coming here. That’s dedication. And I think we’re going to get along great.

2. Lindsay
I miss her. She’s been in Hilton Head all week, and I’ve talked to her, but I still miss seeing her. I’m beginning to become silly for this girl. I don’t know if that’s such a bad thing. It just kinda is =)

Work and haircut tomorrow. Happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

