Victim Complex… good, bad, indifferent?

i don’t think my livejournal is cool enough, so i’m going emo lowercase. because emo is cool, and it’s awesome to be sad and have a vicitim complex. and so comes the topic of this entry.

Okay, so I can’t do the emo thing. I’m not pissed off enough at myself to do that. I don’t think this world is against me. Hence what a victim complex is in my mind. It’s the feeling that everyone does things because they want to ruin your day, they want to make things miserable on you, and that in the end, you are what Murphy had in his mind when he made his law. I just can’t understand this whole thing. First off, do you really think that people think your that important to try that hard to make your life miserable? I can hardly imagine that people would consider me important enough to ruin my life – nor should they. It seems ridiculous to make that assumption, because people I’d say are good (or at least try to be) 90% of the time. I rarely see people be malcious for its own sake. Secondly, as a Christian, there is no room for a victim complex. God has mapped out my life perfectly for His glory, and so it seems silly to think he’d do anything to hurt me. If I’m a basketball coach, I’m not about to break my point guard’s legs, but bet your bottom dollar I’ll run them through so much conditioning and lifting they’re sick and hurting. So it is with Christ. I don’t think he’d ever once harm me for any evil purpose. God isn’t evil; he can’t be. But I know there’s times where I have to work ridiculously hard and train for His Kingdom. So why the crap should I be whining? What a slap in the face to God! I mean, if I’m going to take a cross-training program, He’s a pretty good trainer. If all I’m doing is fussing and complaining about “oh geez, I have bad parents” or “oh man, my church is horrid, I think I’m going to change them” or “I can’t believe I have to do this!” blah blah blah. Sure, it’s going to hurt on occasion, but it’s there a sense of Godly pride in the fact that you come through something and you’re better for it? Otherwise you’re wasting your own time, and I feel you’re wasting God’s time (though He’d never think that. He’s willing to spend as much time as it takes). Two verses fit here real well:

Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer… Bless those who persecute you; bless and do not curse. (Romans 12:12, 14)
Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18)

Folks, it’s really as simple as that. Just go through it with a positive attitude with hope and love, keep in contact with the Lord, and continue to serve God’s will. If I’m the point guard and really want to do well, I’m going to keep saying “goodness, this is tough, but how much more prepared am I going to be when the season starts and I have my challenges”. I’m also going to keep talking to my coach, continuing to pick up pointers, listening to his wisdom, and recieving his encouragement and occasional constructive criticism.

So stop complaining. You’re bringing everyone – including yourself – down.

time to go to bed. peace and love.

Leave a Reply

