Clarification…

For the record, after get a sligtly unnerving comment today from my politics post, I want to clarify my position about the gay rights issue.

First, at least spell the president’s name right. Secondly, and more to the point, I find the way some of the moral majority and right wing members of America are treating this homosexuality issue is replusive, and in no way I feel a true refelection of the gospel. As far as I’ve ever been raised God does NOT hate “fags”. God would never use such a term to describe a piece of His loving handiwork. All homosexuality is as far as the Bible’s ever seemed to be concerned with is a sin, just how lying and stealing and killing is. Sin is greek for “missing the mark” – failing to meet God’s standards. I also like the defintion of sin as the absense of God (If God=perfect good, and Sin=bad, God can’t directly be a cause of sin. He’s always there, but if an individual makes a conscious choice to not have him in his life, well, then; he’s not gonna stop you). Anyways, I feel it’s a sin, yes. I don’t think that any person is born gay, just as I don’t know if anyone is born to steal. A little, little bit nature and A LOT of nuture. But I think God loves the person. And if God loves the person, so will I. If someone steals my car and I meet them, I might not be happy, but I certainly won’t hate them, nor will I tell them repeatedly they’re going to hell – what good does that do to show him the glories of God? None.

I don’t know. As much as I got sick watching gay and lesbian couples wed, it was compounded a lot by the so-called Christians putting up picket signs. You know what, folks? If you want to do the Lord’s work, put down your stupid signs and meet these people. All you’re doing is hiding.

Also, tangential to this, I also feel MTV has gotten waaaaay off of its purpose. It seems it’s strayed far, far away from its music roots to pursue a very liberal platform. MTV has a responsibility to help mold and guide America’s youth in a unique way – to basically play the cool older brother. And it seems instead of being open, honest, and neutral, they want to create an agenda. For instance, why was John Kerry up there asking questions, and not GWB as well? That’s sad.

Anyway, hope you all understand where I’m coming from. Peace and love.

Leave a Reply

