July one of many

At this time next month I’ll be looking at the last week I will ever work at American Standard. It’s weird to say that. I think it’s weird too, that much like 4 years ago, I’m beginning a lot of endings right now. I guess when it rains it pours?

last year at american standard. last year of undergraduate work. last year at home. last year of not having to support myself. last year of not really caring what i look like because we all know in the business world looking good is clutch. last year on my check card.

last year probably in the youngstown ohio area in general.

and finally, it’s the beginning of the end of childhood. which is scary enough with all the other added garbage.

The couple days leading to shut down here at American Standard are wrought with so much laziness you really don’t see much work go on at all. People are so excited to be away from here that I think they forget that yes, you still have Thursday and Friday to work and yes, when you’re here there’s something to do. I watch people leave so early on Friday. It’s as though people can come in and just screw around all day, and with the dire straits the acrylics department is in, you’d figure there’d be some more dedication to the goings on. I don’t know how much I should say because it’s all rumor and you never know what’s going on, but suffice it to say there may be some big shakeups here when it comes to acrylics.

And besides, for my money I’d buy a steel tub with whirlpool jets than a piece of plastic with fiberglass on the bottom. Just not my bag.

For my shutdown I’m not sure what I’ll be doing Monday-Wednesday, but Thursday and Friday I’ll be in Cleveland working with Diane Gotch, head of the automotive HR department of Sherwin-Williams paints. I had the chance to shadow her awhile back and really enjoyed myself. There is so much cool stuff that she did – stuff that I could see myself doing. And I had a chance to look at the marketing department too, which is also up my alley. I’m really hoping this could turn into a job opportunity which would be absolutely smashing. We’ll see.

Anyway, time to “work”. peace and love.

Leave a Reply

