Sherwin-Williams and other things…

First off, let me say hello and apologies for those of you who may still (to my amazement) read my journal. I’ve been on shutdown break this week and consequently not around with a always-up connection. But I’m still around, always looking and hardly updating the journal and the community.

Sherwin-Williams was amazing. For those of you who don’t know, I had a chance to go shadow the HR section of the Sherwin-Williams Automotive Division. To watch these professionals doing their job was impressive. They let me watch so much and see all that goes into it. I have to say that now, HR looks like a good fit for me. No one goes into life thinking “oh geez, when I grow up, I wanna be an HR manager”. It’s not that obvious. And they touch every facet of a business in such a great way, it’s something I could really see myself doing.

Anyway, I must get to writing thank you notes as well. I’m banking on the fact that the networks I made there will prove to be beneficial in the next year or so.

Something I’m hearing more and more, and I think probably the significant thing God is showing me right now (and as is my Savior’s fashion, He has a tendency to always show me things I was stupidly blind to) is that I’m never going to be able to chance anyone. Only God and the person are ever capable of doing that. I’ve been hurt and frustrated many times over the last 3 years by a lot of the people closest to me, be they friends or people I’ve dated or whatever, and I just end up feeling that I’m going to say something or do something and they won’t hurt me or I’m not going to hurt them or whatever. Until I finally realized that they only person letting them hurt me is me. And the more time I spend thinking about it, the less anything is going to get accomplished. Eventually what it comes down to is everyone deserves the same amount of grace that God allows me – as God allows to everyone in this world. So who am I to give less grace and less understanding to someone else. It’s the constant battle to give up the life that I could lead easily and take up my cross. People I think sometimes want to equate taking up the cross as purely missions and conversion and all that. Taking up my cross, it seems, is as simple as forgiveness and kindness.

If I hear John Kerry make one more lame joke, I’m going to stop considering voting for him (there you go Charlie! I’m considering it… :P)

The Kerry/Edwards duo is about as harmless and blank as a cup of milk. They stand for what everyone else does, and what I don’t agree with isn’t going to be changed (social issues and the like… ex: people wouldn’t stand for a total legalization of gay and lesbian marriages)

I just fear GWB’s policies are so unilateral they’ve displaced us from the global community. Maybe it’s the news spin, but that’s the way I feel. I want a few years where America is trying to buddy-buddy up to everyone. The way the global economy is headed, we need many friends.

Anyway. peace and love.

Leave a Reply

