Meaningfuls

A couple things got into my head today and I figured I’d share if for only my own benefit.

When I first came to Grove City, one of the first things I looked at were the two rocks in front of Harbison chapel. Of particular significance was the one towards MAP. On it were the Men Of The Year. Awarded by the honorary, it shows the best and brightest men ever to walk on the campus of Grove City. And I said to myself then that I’d work to get to that level and perhaps be lucky enough to have my name on the rock. And here I am in my Senior year and I thought about the rock today with a certain twinge of sadness. I look at what I’ve done over the last three years and see that I could match up to the graduates last year – A member of OB, and RA and an RD, community activities, active for awhile in the Prison Ministry, Delta Rho Sigma Chaplain, and an actor in the Grove City College one acts. I mean, I’ve done it… except honoraries. My grades sit at a 3.24 – .6 below what they need to be to be thought of for ODK, the main honorary. No Operation Top Management, no nothin’. And it bothers me because the main reason I wanted to be on that rock was legacy – I wanted to feel like all I’ve been doing to try to make Grove City better would be worth it, and people would look at that rock and say “Adam Anderson, he must of done something”

Nothing scares me more than anonymity. To be one of many. To be another face in the crowd and not making a difference. It’s one of the driving factors in my life – to be and do something with this world and to encourage others to do the same. And I felt like it all culminates on a plaque on a stone in a place where everyone on the entire campus walks by.

For a moment I sat here depressed. And then I thought about it and realized how silly that all is. How arrogant of me to think that a rock makes a difference. How silly to think I can’t make a difference. I’ve always wanted to see my work in people come through, and I look at the guys on my hall last year. I look at Paul Peal and Elizabeth Dunn and see what God’s doing in them and how incredible each of them are, and think that maybe God used me in their lives. And the more I thought, the more I realized that God doesn’t want a flashy servant. Jesus speaks about the fact that when someone’s serving and giving, don’t let the left hand know what the right is doing. In the end that’s the point. To be the best servant I can be for God and for others, I can’t be aiming for the accolades, but for the joy that serving entails.

Because in the end, I’d rather have one of my guys feel I made a difference in their life than receive a thousand Man of the Year awards.

I’ve been reading more about my church, the Church of Christ and what it entails. A good overview of the movement is here: http://church-of-christ.org/who.html

And there’s a simple way to be a part of the Church of Christ outlined there too:

Hear the Gospel. “How shall they call on him whom they have not believed? and how shall they believe him whom they have not heard? and how shall they hear without a preacher?” (Romans 10:14).

Believe. “And without faith it is impossible to be well pleasing unto him; for he that cometh to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of them that seek after him” (Hebrews 11:6).

Repent of past sins. “The times of ignorance therefore God overlooked; but now he commandeth men that they should all everywhere repent” (Acts 17:30).

Confess Jesus as Lord. “Behold here is water; What doth hinder me to be baptized ? And Philip said, if thou believeth with all thy heart thou mayest. And he answered and said, I believe that Jesus Christ is the Son of God” (Acts 8:36-37).

Be baptized for the remission of sins. “And Peter said unto them, Repent ye, and be baptized everyone of you in the name of Jesus Christ unto the remission of your sins and ye shall receive the gift of the Holy Spirit” (Acts 2:38).

Live a Christian life. “Ye are an elect race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for God’s own possession, that ye may show forth the excellencies of him who called you out of darkness into his marvelous light” (1 Peter 2:9).

And to me it makes a lot of sense. God forgives us, and we need to be obedient to His calling. Otherwise there’s no accountability.

But then I read about the “Church of Christ” dilemma, where it says that CoC believes that faith saves no one and really it’s the act of baptism that saves.

Baptism has been something that I’ve prayed and studied for quite awhile. As an immersed individual myself, I see the value and the need for it. At minimum it’s a pact between God and I that I have accepted Him as my Savior – an act going back to Jesus and further; and at maximum it’s a mandate set forth by our Lord. But it bothers me that people again CoC make it sound like a heresy. Because it’s not at all.

As I read more on the page, they mention Max Lucado (a CoC minister) and one of his books and the way he uses justification by faith, and I agree with ML

Here’s my take on it: I think we’re arguing the same point but in different ways. I believe that the major way to reach God is through faith and believing in Him with all of the heart, body, and soul. It’s the fundamental tenet of any true religion. That being said, I think the CoC goes further by giving a roadmap to that faith with obligations that help solidify it. Note that faith comes before baptism – in other words, if you don’t have faith, there’s no point in being baptized. “I believe that Jesus Christ is the Son of God” is the line every member in my church had to recite in front of the congregation. We’re baptized following.

So in the end I don’t see the fuss.

peaceandlove

Leave a Reply

