Good Mo’nin

Here my day yesterday:

I’ve decided to keep a running log of what’s going on in Maine this year. I haven’t done that for the last few years I’ve gone, but considering this may be the last time with my grandparents and my brother, I figure I should for posterity’s sake. Also, for those of you who read my journal on a regular basis, this is atypical because there’s a lot more minutia, which I typically don’t like to do.

Rain. 58F. It’s almost 9:30, and since we started driving an hour and a half ago, it’s been nothing but rain. We just passed the “Welcome to PA” sign on I-90 on our way to Erie to Buffalo to Syracuse to Watertown. In hindsight, we probably could go a little further today, but I think we’re going to try to take the trip back in 2 days because there’s a classical concert that it’s one of the churches. Ryan and I went last year and really enjoyed ourselves.

I’m trying to work on the mission statement and later executive summary for my Business Plan. There are two things I’ve set to accomplish this year while on vacation, and that’s to do this executive summary and to get Bible Studies done for the Buffaloes up until about November. If I can go further, great. So far I’m planning on doing a study on the application of the fruits of the spirit, and then working on the heart of Jesus and who he is as a man. It should be meaningful for both me and the rest of the guys.

10:11 – In New York. Still raining. Doesn’t look as though there’s any end in sight. On the I-90 turnpike too. So it’ll be quick driving. I really could afford to use the bathroom. And the grapes look nice. Mission statment is about done… the first time. It’ll probably be done for good in March when we have to turn it in.

1:22 – Half way between Buffalo and Syracuse and it’s just cloudy. Speaking of Buffalo, why is it “An All America Town”? Not All American? Someone from there full me in. Mission statement done. Now on to executive statement. Listening now to Gin and Juice by Snoop Dogg. Laid back, with my mind on my money and my money on my mind.

2:44 – Off of I-90 and on my way to Watertown. Listening to Rush Limbaugh, and while I don’t always agree with his politics, I have to admit I agree with what he’s saying with McGeevey. I think there’s more to that whole story. Also, Julia Child is dead. She was 92, and seemed like she’d live forever. Also, hurricane Charlie is going to hit Florida in an hour. He’s a category 4.

3:57 – In Watertown, NY. Finally.

This morning so far I had one thing to talk about. I went over to the room where they were serving breakfast and there was this kid complaining about having to dress up. His mom replied “you have to dress up becuase you have to go to a funeral.”

“What’s a funeral, mom?”
Silence.
“What was it, a finerial?”
“A funeral.”
“What’s a funeral, mom?”
“Well, you’re going to have to ask your grandma.”

This was funny enough in and of itself, but only got better soon after:

“Grammy, what’s a funeral?”
Silence.
“Grammy, what is a funeral?”
“Well, I’m going to head upstairs”
“Bye mom, have a good day” says the kid’s mom.

That was a delight.

It’s not raining, which is also a delight. We’ll be in Montpelier this afternoon early and I think I’m going to be getting together with Amy Bowers which can go under the delight category. So all in all, day 2 of Maine ’04 is shaping up to be a… well, you know.

peaceandlove

Leave a Reply

