obscure and vauge relationship post ahead

So if you’re looking for “dirt”, move on there cousin, you ain’t gonna get it from me. That picture you’re viewing right now is from the seventh grade Valentine’s Day dance.  I’m in the second row, third from the right, looking at James Smith upside down, not, as you would expect, at Arin Haus. (fun fact: I had a relationship with four of the girls in the photo – one in 5th grade, two in 8th grade, one my senior year of high school)

The relationship issue is one that I’ve thought more about recently with various things that have come up in my life from all over – people here, from back home, college, everything.

Here’s the long story short.  When I was a freshman in college, I thought for certain by the time I was 22 I’d be married.  I thought I would have found the woman of my dreams, settled down and started living my life.  Now, obviously at 23.5, I realize had I made those choice, I don’t know if I’d be as happy as I am now – or more accurately put – God knew what He was doing significantly better than I did.  But here I am, and while I’m cool with the whole single thing, every once in awhile, I miss that connection, and desire it.  For goodness sakes, I’m a 23 year old guy, I’d say the majority of us are thinking “hmmm… marriage?”

Or not.  But it’s nice to think I’m not the minority.

But, if there’s something I’ve learned from the experience I’ve had is that the active relenting my will to God in dating relationships is 1) The only way for a relationship to work and 2) The thing I struggle with the most.  This is to contrast the “Oh, I’m giving it up to God” but then pushing something to develop out of nothing way too soon attitude I harbored for the entire time I’ve been interested in girls.  I suck at being patient, and only recently have I learned how chronic it is with me.  So, all of this is not to say I’ve found some particular person, or that I’m on the path to marriage now, but more to say (and even more to remind myself) that really, it doesn’t matter where I am, but that I’m patient to God and what He’s placed in front of me and what He’s laid on my heart.

And seriously, could you all imagine me married at 22?  I was struggling to get out of bed five minutes before class.

On a completely unrelated note, I bowled a 150 tonight.  However, I slipped and fell twice on the lanes.  So, whatever coolness I may have had was promptly cancelled twice.

2 thoughts on “obscure and vauge relationship post ahead

  1. Adam, you rock. Your princess charming is out there waiting for her prince charming, and let me say that she’s got an awesome thing coming. Just think how satisfying it will be when you two finally find each other, the wait will have been worth it. God wants you to do, and see, some things before you find your soulmate. These things will only enhance the happiness that I know is coming your way. You are awesome, don’t forget that, and even though its hard to be patient, everyday you are one day closer to finding her. (p.s this is in no way my coming on to you, i just wanted to tell you that you rock, which you do 🙂 Karen

Leave a Reply

