you, friend, deserve a midweek update

I have free time now, and instead of, you know, napping, I’m going to write an update. I’ll keep it brief, because my goal during this time is not to write blog entries, to but to enjoy the chautauqua I’m in.

Chautauqua is defined as a time of spiritual renewal through the heart and the mind. In New York, there’s a place called the Chautauqua Institution which for over a century has operated to that end. I have found this time to be a retreat into a place where I can be vulnerable, exposed, and open to whatever is coming at me. I’ve learned quite a bit already, and am anticipating that much more.

Obviously, as I have written before, this doesn’t mean it’s always comfortable. I had a conversation last night with Erik Wessel and Josh Hayes that certainly wasn’t comfortable, but was rather convicting and has spurn me to think about how I continue to relate my faith life and my work life and my identity.

It’s a time to be with friends who know very well what it’s like to endure the hardships of ministry: to love deeply and be hurt the same, and to watch the good, bad, and ugly.

In the end, this time is allowing me to see God again in a very real way, where in the last few weeks He had seemed hidden from my sight. It’s allowing me to see beyond my existensial “Let Go” and is reminding me to “hold on”.

Oh, and by the way: I’m taking a master’s class (College Students In America), and watched Garden State as part of class. It was an amazing snapshot of Millenials. I’d love to talk to you about it sometime.

Anyway. That’s it for now. Much love.

One thought on “you, friend, deserve a midweek update

Leave a Reply

