the “poor, sweet baby” explanation

    A couple entries ago I said I would explain "poor, sweet baby" to you all, and so I shall.

    When I was in High School, my senior English teacher, Mrs. Molnar, had us keep a journal through the year and just write things that came up.  She'd give feedback, and I feel in many ways, she's the reason why I blog now (on a side note, I'm hoping to give her a call today so we can catch up with life and I can tell her about my job and ministry).

    One of my favorite entries was a Peanuts comic strip I found and taped it in my journal.  I searched long and hard, and found it on the internet:

I love it.  First, I've always associated a little with Charlie Brown (big head, always wanting to play sports, always getting schooled, the nice guy and romantic who just is that, etc), and I thought at the time "This is exactly it!  This is what I want!".  And so, I put it in the journal so I'd remember it.

    When Lindsay and I were dating in college, I showed it to her, and indeed, periodically when I was really down, she'd give me a big hug, kiss me on the forehead, and say "poor, sweet baby".

    I'm pretty sure, contrary to Peppermint Patty, there are more girls (or dogs) in this world that will say that to me, and Charlie Brown.  So have faith, Chuck.  It'll happen.

    …well, maybe not with you.  You apparently never grow up.  I, on the other hand, don't have much of a choice.  Not to say I'd trade you, however.

9 thoughts on “the “poor, sweet baby” explanation

  1. I’ve been looking for a copy of this particular strip for years! I have, at various points in my life been (metaphorically of course!) Peppermint Patty, Charlie Brown and Snoopy! Thanks for posting it!

  2. Greetings,
    I have been seaching for the peanuts strip that you posted (poor sweet baby) for years. It is because of this strip that I met my wife. I was at college sitting on a bench trying to meet girls. Each girl that would pass by i would ask if she would kiss me on the ear and call me poor sweet baby(I should mention here that I am a complete dork). The girl who actually did it has been my wife for nearly 19 years. I was beginning to think that i just made the strip up but I see you have found it although the copy you posted is incomplete. Can you point me in the right direction on the web to find this strip. I want to frame it and give it to my wife for our anniversary. Thanks so much.
    Leon Fox
    Turlock, Ca.

  3. I, like Leon Fox, have been searching for the “Poor Sweet Baby” Peanuts strip for several years. My husband and I saw it several years ago and it became one of our favorite strips. He was such a tough guy – but always loved it when I called him “Poor Sweet Baby”. He died this year from Cancer and I will miss him forever. I am trying to find a good copy of the comic strip to frame. I have even looked in some of the Peanuts books – but, no luck. Please let me know where I may find it. Many Thanks.

  4. If you open the above image in another window, you will see that it is complete! It is just the page formatting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

