the hit parade

Today I was in Pittsburgh for work in the CCO office.  I love Pittsburgh, by the way – as much as someone from Ohio can without feeling traitorous.  Anyway, it was a really nice time.  When coming from Salem, I come in through the Fort Pitt tunnels, and in Perks, Stephen Chbosky writes his characters feel "inifinite" in a scene where they go through them.  I think about that as I go through them each time.

But the odd thing was all the nostagia it brought it.  It, without a doubt, because the "Adam Anderson relationship hit parade": a large advertisement for the Mozart room at Heinz Hall; Heinz Hall itself; during a bottleneck back on the Fort Pitt Tunnels, I saw the nice Italian restaraunt overlooking downtown Pittsburgh; Ikea and the "mmmmmm-bop-bop-bop-baaaauuuuuuuuuuuuuu" came on (the Counting Crows version of "You don't know what you got until it's gone" song).  There were probably 2 or 3 other things I just kept thinking about past relationships I had.  It was never anything bad, just the bittersweet nostagia that comes with relationships past.  It's like I said before, you never get over them, you just attach them to your heart, and they're just part of you.

I prayed about it as I drove home, too, beacuse it was so smack-you-over-the-head, that I wondered if it was just what it was, or if God was trying to tell me something.  If anything, it was a good time to meditate with God.  Sometimes you have to do that.  Just say "hey, God, this is what's going on… help me understand" and just leave it at that.  It's much like Elijah in the wilderness – it's not always the earthquakes or strong winds, it's the whispers that God answers.

Also, here's my list of CDs I listened to while galavanting in the 412:

  • Nick Drake – Bryter Layter
  • Elliott Smith – Figure 8
  • Sondre Lerche – Two Way Monolouges
  • HHT's delicious mix

These are such atypical driving albums.  Usually it's The Roots, Kanye West, Jay-Z, and Common.  It was so relaxing, though.  And I'd highly recommend purchasing the first three.  The last one is a one-of-a-kind, and you probably can't get it.  Sorry.

Maybe I've just become chill.  It's a possiblity.  Probably not.  I'm still a spaz.  As demonstrated by the last few sentences.

Also, I got a postcard from Tricia Dituro from LDW, and a card and picture from Bridget Eshe.  Both were welcome additions to my life.

peace to all of you.  NST starts tomorrow.  A+ Ax.

Leave a Reply

