i heart bf

Hi all.  I'm in Beaver Falls, PA, home of Geneva College and my home for the next five weeks.  I love it here.  It is a way to retreat from the world and do some things that I love to do constantly.  I look forward to doing some blogging for you all to let you know what life is like as a new staff trainer.  Obviously, it's as much for the history (I mean, you see, almost 5 years of blogging… it's my life there!) as it is for you, but if you enjoy it, great!

We've spent the most of the last couple days getting things ready for the new staff to come to campus – lots of unpacking, arranging, food purchasing, packet creating, etc, etc.  I love the folks up here.  What I enjoy the most is that the support staff I'm working with (Kelly, Austina, Matt, KTT, Lindsey, and Beth) are all folks I've known basically since I joined staff, so I feel really comfortable.

I'm also the youngin' of the group at 23… and, if I suppose right, the youngin' by a good 2 years.  Which is great.  I'm so rarely the youngest of a group, that when it comes, I can use it a chance to grow (…and get picked on.  But, y'know, it happens).

In case I didn't tell you, one of my big goals for this summer and my spiritual life is to become more disciplined.  That is to say I desire to work in the foundations of developing a good spiritual life and making it more consistent.  The seminal book on the topic is Richard J. Foster's "Celebration of Discipline".  I got back into reading it again today, and started on "The Discipline of Prayer".  I was so intrigued by the first even few sentences:

Of all the Spirtual Disciplines prayer is the most central because it ushers us into perpetual communion with the Father… Prayer is the central avenue God uses to transform us.  If we are unwilling to change, we will abandon prayer as a noticeable characteristic of our lives… In prayer, real prayer, we begin to think God's thoughts after him: to desire the things he desires, to love the things he loves, to will the things he wills.

As I grow older and continue to take a walk in faith, I'm constantly humbled how simple words, often repeated to me, but nuanced differently, will create a new plane of understanding of who God is and what He means to me and all of us.  This, I suppose, is the hallmark of growth – you look at the same thing deeper and differently.

goodnight

One thought on “i heart bf

Leave a Reply

