new poem

Two Drink Query

It’s flattering.
The way you smiled at me,
Eloquence in eyes and nose and teeth,
Books strewn across tables.

As you study diligently I find myself
Dreaming about casual conversation –
     what you study
     why two drinks
And do you like Earl Grey because it’s what I currently
Bring to my lips.

I practiced my clarity with the girl at the counter
(who, obviously, is a lackluster substitute)
Turned around, and he answered my
Two drink query.

I place my glasses (eye
and tea)
Down in a veiled indignance, and retreat
To lesser pursuits.

2 thoughts on “new poem

Leave a Reply

