mushaboom

Usually, at this time, I’m just finishing up my first Christmas celebration.  My mom’s parents would have come after Christmas Eve service, and we would have been unwrapping presents at some ungodly hour because we obviously wouldn’t have slept well the night before.  This always meant we’d be done by 11:30 or so, and then eat brunch.  My grandparent’s would leave by 3:00, only to have the other side of the family come at 6:00 or so.  This year is different.  My brother has to work at his job (2.5x regular pay, however.  Tough to pass up), and so we’ve split up Christmas, with my dad’s family coming tonight as usual, and my mom’s parents coming tomorrow.  Which in one way is nice, becuase how often do people get to have Christmas the day after.  And tradition, while it’s something I value, is a concept that is flexible with me – I’m okay with having Christmas the day after, so long as it happens.

Anyway, all of this made me think of this song… I like the Feist version a lot.

Peace.

Mushaboom

Helping the kids out of their coats
Oh wait the babies haven’t been born oh
Unpacking the bags and setting up
And planting lilacs and buttercups oh

But in the meantime we’ve got it hard
Second floor living without a yard
It may be years until the day
My dreams will match up with my pay

Old dirt road,
(mushaboom, mushaboom)
knee deep snow
(mushaboom, mushaboom)
Watching the fire as we grow
(mushaboom, mushaboom)
o-o-o-o-old

I got a man to stick it out
And make a home from a rented house oh
And we’ll collect the moments one by one
I guess that’s how the future’s done oh

How many acres, how much light
Tucked in the woods and out of sight
Talk to the neighbours and tip my cap
On a little road barely on the map

Old dirt road,
(mushaboom, mushaboom)
knee deep snow
(mushaboom, mushaboom)
Watching the fire as we grow,
(mushaboom, mushaboom)
o-o-o-o-old
(mushaboom, mushaboom)
Old dirt road rambling rose
(mushaboom, mushaboom)
Watching the fire as we grow
(mushaboom, mushaboom)
well earned soul…

One thought on “mushaboom

Leave a Reply

