my month long project

I’ve decided to embark on a month-long project of blogging everyday.  So, from now until February 12th, I plan on putting something in here.  My hope, as well, is to write down events that stand out in my day, preferably happy.  Kelly Fennessy and I have embarked on this project together.  And some of you other bloggers out there (read: Tricia) can join as well.  I got in the habit of the “one thing that made me happy” writing in May when life wasn’t so good, and I think when life is especially good, we oughta write these things down too.  If I’m out of town (like tomorrow and Sunday), I’ll write something down and post it later.

Anyway, here’s one from a couple days ago to get started.  K-Fenn and I did our usual “get-together-to-talk-about-life” things, and were at Eat’N’Park.  Behind us in the next booth was an old couple (as, y’know, typically happens at an ENP at 11:30 in the morning).  The woman had a bonnet on that alluded to chemotherapy.  They ordered the soup and salad bar immediately to our left (which, while being pushed as the healthy option, our placemats still had the bucket-o’-grease known as the appetizer sampler).  She got up, and before heading to get more walked over to the other side of the booth, put her arm around her husband, and kissed him on the head.  It was done so elegantly that I stopped talking and just watched.  It was beautiful, and just made me think about how rare that seems anymore – first, couples being married that long, and then still being sweet and loving, and then being so in public.  I get the same feeling when I see my grandparents hold hands.

Oh, and do I look like this guy?  Colin Meloy from The Decemberists.  I’d prefer this celebrity lookalike over Glen Humplick from the Tom Green show.

peace.

One Comment

  1. 1. Yeah, I’d say you look a bit like that guy.
    2. Kudos to blogging daily.
    3. Ooooh- Adam likes a giiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiirrl.

    P.S. Forgive my childish, yet sisterly inclination to tease you, especially since you didn’t do it when I fell into a relationship.

    P.S.S. See you in two weeks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

