well, i’m not sure who i’m going to vote for yet…

…but I’m sure it won’t be Rudy Giuliani. Not only did I not like him in the debates after Iowa, but this might have done it:

Really? I mean, REALLY? You could have said “Yeah, when I divorced my wife that was hard”, but instead it was 9/11.

I’m getting more and more frustrated at the fact that the whole 9/11 thing has become nothing but parody. It’s one half Rudy’s fault and one half ours. First, Rudy has become a caricature. He’s playing the same thing over and over and over, showing that he’s the man who helped NYC through 9/11. Don’t get me wrong, he did a fine job, but consider all the help he had. Ray Nagin won’t be saying “Katrina, Katrina, Katrina”, and here’s the reason in his own words:

We authorized $8 billion to go to Iraq, lickity split. After 9/11, we gave the President unlimited powers, lickity split, to take care of New York and other places.
You mean to tell me that a place where most of your oil is coming through, a place so unique that when you mention “New Orleans” anywhere around the world, everybody’s eyes light up. You mean to tell me that a place where you probably have thousands of people who have died and thousands more are dying every day, we can’t get figure out a way to authorize the resources that we need.
I mean, I’m not one of those drug addicts. I am thinking very clearly. And I don’t know whose problem it is; I don’t know if it’s the governor’s problem or if it’s the President’s problem, but somebody needs to get their ass on a plane and sit down the two of them and figure this thing out right now.

Exactly. Rudy was given so many opportunities that he could have done nothing and still have been proclaimed as a hero. As a result, he’s running on that alone.

The worst part, though, is that we, as Americans have given him to think that’s a good idea. We want that caricature. Have we really slipped so far as to say “well, Mayor of NYC during 9/11 = good president”?

As I think about it, there seems to be two diverging cultures: the one that refuses to think, and the one that is cynical… I think the natural reactions from the last 6 years of 9/11 and the war in Iraq.

Anyway, before this becomes rambling, one more thing. Jon Stewart and Steven Colbert may be the best they’ve ever been right now, because it’s them. What I love most about Jon Stewart (if you’ve ever read this blog before, you know I love the guy), are the things he says outside of his show. Now, it’s just him, and he’s downright sardonic. Angry in the best way possible.

As much as I love the message of hope and change that Obama Obama and Edwards Democrats everyone is giving now, I think I still need to have someone who tells me that this world is still a little ridiculous.

Put another way, I love God a lot a lot a lot… but have you seen the platypus? Freaking crazy!

I’m going to try to write twice a week.

peace,

a

2 thoughts on “well, i’m not sure who i’m going to vote for yet…

  1. There’s a video on YouTube that the International Firefighters Union produced about Mr. Giuliani and his “leadership” in relation to the fire department. It’s an interesting watch, and certainly paints a different picture than what Mr. Giuliani wants painted. Fascinating stuff.

  2. I wonder if Giuliani realizes how ridiculous he sounds. I mean, he mentions 9/11 in nearly every answer he gives to a question, no matter how tenuous a tie to the current topic. (I fully expect to hear the following interview: “What kind of dog do you have, Mr. Giuliani?” “Well, we have a terrier. I purchased him shortly before 9/11, and, that night, dusty and dirty as I stumbled back into my house, I knelt down and held him as I cried”. “What’s your favorite cereal?” “I was eating my Cap’n Crunch on the morning of 9/11 when the first plane hit the tower. It was the first time since school I didn’t finish the bowl!”) I mean, It’s become a joke. It is a good base to launch your campaign from, what with name recognition and all, but … it’s time to move on.

    Anyway, does this strategy even work with people? I mean, I choose a candidate based on their personality and how strongly I think they match my beliefs on issues. Is he so vapid in every other respect that he can’t pull up -something- relevant from his life or beliefs to talk about beyond “i was mayor of New York during 9/11”? I guess at least he’s keeping to his message, worn out though it may be.

Leave a Reply

